How does the upload of my DNA file affect my privacy?

Your DNA results are private and secure.

As a webmaster (site creator), you are able to upload DNA files for yourself as well as your family members and see only these files.

When you upload a DNA file to your profile, first you need to accept DNA Terms of Use. It's also recommended to read and accept Consent Agreement.

When you upload a DNA file to your family member's profile, you also need to confirm that you have received their permission.

 

As a family site member, you can only upload and see your own DNA file. You will also be able to see if there is a file that has already been uploaded to your profile by the site webmaster. 
 

In the future, if you choose to participate in DNA matching, you can decide if you want to share your DNA information with potential relatives (users whose DNA information matches yours).