Synchronization

How do I sync the family tree I created in Family Tree Builder with my online family site?

Open up Family Tree Builder and on the main toolbar click on the ‘Sync’ button to synchronize your tree with your family site.  You can

How do I make sure that I am syncing my tree with the correct site?

To Make sure you are syncing with the correct site follow the instructions below: Click on ‘Sync (publishing)’ in the upper menu bar in Family

How often can I sync my tree in Family Tree Builder?

Frequent syncs of family trees with a lot of data can cause performance issues for many MyHeritage users due to an overload in the database. To improve

Why were my photos not synced from the online Family Site to the Family Tree Builder?

There are a couple of reasons of why pictures may not have been synced from the online family site to Family Tree Builder: 1) You have more than one tree

Is my version of Family Tree Builder up to date?

To check which version of Family Tree Builder you are using, click on ‘Help’ in the upper tool bar in Family Tree Builder and select ‘

How can I turn off the automatic sync in Family Tree Builder?

To disable completely the automatic sync in Family Tree Builder (FTB), please do the following: 1. Click on ‘Tools’ from the upper menu bar

Can I use Family Tree Builder on two different computers?

It is not recommended to work with the same project in the Family Tree Builder software on two computers. The sync function syncs all the changes that

Why have my IDs changed from Family Tree Builder 6.0?

The ID numbers in Family Tree Builder 7.0 are now set to be the exact amount of people in your family tree. For example, if you delete a person with ID

How can I undo the changes that were done in Family Tree Builder after I synced my tree?

The sync process applies the updates that were done on your family site to your project in FTB, and then takes the changes that were done to the website.

Can I choose not to sync my Family Tree Builder tree with my site?

You can choose not to sync your family tree with a family site at MyHeritage. To do so, you should stop the ‘Automatic sync’ in Family Tree

Why are my photos not synced from Family Tree Builder to my online tree?

There are two reasons why your photos may have not synced from Family Tree Builder (FTB) to your online tree. I. Your settings are set to sync only

How do I sync specific branches of my family tree in Family Tree Builder?

To sync only certain branches from your main family tree, please do the following: Open your tree in Family Tree Builder. Go to ‘Sync (

Why do I see "unknown" individuals in my tree online after I sync my tree in Family Tree Builder?

There are two main reasons ‘Unknown’ individuals may appear in your tree online after you sync it from Family Tree Builder: 1) Privatized

What is the difference between ‘Sync’ and ‘Publish’?

In the former versions of the Family Tree Builder software (FTB) we called the process of uploading your family tree data to your family website ‘

Can I choose what photos I sync from the Family Tree Builder to the online Family Site?

The new version of Family Tree Builder software (FTB 7.0) has the option not to sync specific photos just like in the previous version. To choose which

Can I sync my tree automatically in Family Tree Builder 7.0?

Your Family Tree Builder and online trees will automatically sync with one another every 24 hours, even if your Family Tree Builder is closed (as long as

Why can’t I publish in FTB 7.0? Where is the publish option?

You can still publish your family tree to your family site. In Family Tree Builder 7.0, the ‘publish’ option has been changed to ‘

How can I turn off the automatic sync of a specific project in Family Tree Builder?

To turn off the automatic sync of a project in Family Tree Builder (FTB), please do the following: 1. In the upper menu bar click on ‘Sync (

Can I still manually sync even if Automatic Sync is turned off?

Yes, you can manually sync even if the Automatic Sync is turned off. The ‘Sync’ works in the same way as the former ‘Publish’ from

Are changes made in my tree on the family site synced back to the Family Tree Builder project?

Yes! In the Family Tree Builder 7.0, there is a two-way “link” between the project that is in your Family Tree Builder program and the project

Can I manage which parts of my Family Tree Builder project get synced with the online family site?

It is possible to manage which parts of your family tree in Family Tree Builder will get synced with the web. In order to do so, open your project in

I deleted a photo in Family Tree Builder 7.0 and synced, why does the photo still show up online?

When you delete a photo in Family Tree Builder 7.0 it will no longer show up in the software. However, the photo will still be located on the online