Can I choose not to sync my Family Tree Builder tree with my site?

You can choose not to sync your family tree with a family site at MyHeritage. To do so, you should stop the ‘Automatic sync’ in Family Tree Builder as described below.

Please note:  Trees created in Family Tree Builder software are meant to be synced to a family site and can be best experienced by syncing.

If you choose not to sync, there are a lot of features that you won’t be able to fully enjoy within the program, such as Smart Matching, Records Matching, Upcoming Events and Profile page from the ‘Family Site’ section and more.

Syncing also serves as an online backup of your family tree. In case the tree on your computer becomes corrupt, you can easily download your family tree from your online family site. This is an invaluable part of syncing that protects your hard work.

To stop the Automatic Sync, please do the following:

Open your Family Tree Builder Software.

Click on ‘Tools’ menu in the upper menu bar and select ‘Options’.

On the window that appears, click on ‘Sync’ on the left-hand side.

Next to ‘Sync Projects automatically to my sites’ change the value to ‘NO’.  Click ‘OK’ to save your settings.

Description: C:\Users\anna\AppData\Local\Temp\SNAGHTML36b126.PNG

Note: You can still sync your tree manually at any time, by clicking ‘Sync’ button on the main toolbar.