How do I sync specific branches of my family tree in Family Tree Builder?

To sync only certain branches from your main family tree, please do the following:

Open your tree in Family Tree Builder.

Go to ‘Sync (publishing)’ menu in the upper menu bar and select ‘Sync Settings’.


 Click ’Advanced Settings.

Description: C:\Users\anna\AppData\Local\Temp\SNAGHTML164654e.PNG

Under ‘People to Upload’’ section choose ‘Specific people selected below’ and click on the ‘Select People’ button.

Description: Click to view photo in full size

A list of the individuals in your family tree will appear.

Description: Click to view photo in full size

To add a person, highlight the name in the list and click ‘Select’. You will probably want to use the eldest ancestors in the tree to get a complete branch.

Now you will see the option to ‘Select People to Upload’:

Description: Click to view photo in full size
 

You should see the name of the person you just added in the list. Clicking the ‘Edit’ button will allow you to include Ancestors, Descendants and Spouses, any combination of those three or the only the specific person.

You can add more people by clicking ‘Add’.

When you finish adding people for a particular branch, click OK to go back to the Sync Settings screen:

Click ‘Sync Now’. This will sync a certain branch of your main family tree with the family site. This means that only profiles of the selected people will be shown on the family site as the result of the sync process. At the same time, this will not affect your main tree in Family Tree Builder, you will still have all the data in your Family Tree Builder tree.
 
Important note: If you change the sync settings to include more people or a different branch it will override any previous synced branches. This option does not create a separate tree on your family site. 
 
If at any time you may wish to sync the whole tree again, make sure to change the sync settings back to sync all people in the tree.